GHL Blog Rotating Header Image

The Data Resources Guide

Share Button

Need data on a certain subject and don’t know where to begin? The State Library of North Carolina’s Government and Heritage Library can help you.  Look no further than our Data Resources Guide, where you can find information about North Carolina and more.  You can find links to helpful databases, such as LINC (Log Into NC) and Census Explorer, and access tutorials on the powerful data tools like the American FactFinder and Data Ferrett.  Also, there is a link where you can join the NCData Listserv to receive announcements about important data releases from the NC State Data Center and the US Census Bureau, as well as information about upcoming webinars.


Tip of the week: finding places in North Carolina

Share Button

genealogy_tip_week-300x217This week’s tip is about finding places in North Carolina. North Carolina has an excellent resource called The North Carolina Gazetteer. This is book that lists place names and water ways located in the state. There are nearly 20,000 entries!


North Carolina County of the Week: Stanly County, NC

Share Button


The NC County of the Week for March 29 – April , 2015 is Stanly County!

Stanly County, North Carolina was created in 1841 from Montgomery County and is located in the Piedmont region of the state. Its namesake is John Stanly, Speaker of the North Carolina House of Commons and a former U.S> congressman.

Join us this week to explore all things Stanly County: history, people, culture, geography, genealogy, and natural heritage!

For more information on this  NC county, follow us on Facebook and Twitter. Join the conversation by using hash tag #nccotw. Be sure to also check out our Pinterest board for Stanly County where we’ll showcase a range of historic images and documents available online!


Free Genealogy Workshop: Using the North Carolina Digital Collections for Genealogical Research

Share Button


Using the North Carolina Digital Collections for

Genealogical Research

May 2, 2015, 10-11a.m.

digitalcollections1   (more…)

This blog is a service of the State Library of North Carolina, part of the NC Department of Cultural Resources. Blog comments and posts may be subject to Public Records Law and may be disclosed to third parties.